APAS Young Leaders presented by FCC

CONNECT with agricultural producers

LEARN from industry mentors

ADVOCATE for positive changes


Each year APAS offers the APAS Young Leaders (AYL) program presented by FCC to agricultural producers between the ages of 18 and 40.

AYL supports young Saskatchewan producers to become industry leaders by providing opportunities for learning and networking in the areas of agricultural policy and advocacy.

APAS is proud to have brought on FCC as a partner for the YLMP in 2023.

APAS 2022/23 YLMP Mentees met the new President and CEO of FCC Justine Hendricks in March, 2023.

APAS Young Leaders' Background

The 2022/23 APAS YLMP mentees (L to R):
Eric Martens (RM of Longlaketon),
Carlie Bowditch (RM of Tisdale),
Morgan Follensbee (RM of Newcombe),
Ashley Van Meter (RM of Moose Range).

The AYL program presented by FCC was established in 2014 and is open to Saskatchewan producers between the ages of 18 and 40. The program aims to help young producers gain valuable experience, take advantage of networking opportunities, and develop the skills necessary to become a future industry leader.

Participants are matched up with a farm leader over the age of 40 in a mentee-mentor relationship. Participants also attend APAS meetings and the APAS AGM, and when possible the CFA AGM in Ottawa.

Young producers are the future of agriculture and a priority for APAS. In 2016, participants in the Youth Leadership and Mentorship Program asked for and received the support at the APAS Annual General Meeting to set up their own Policy Committee: the APAS Young Agricultural Producers Committee, or ‘YAP.’ Participants in AYL will work with the YAP Committee to help identify policy ideas for the future.

Participant Testimonials

"If this program doesn't build you connections and friendships and role models in this industry, I don't know what does. I know I can call these people, I know I can knock on their doors, I know I can do whatever I need to do to help further Saskatchewan agriculture for the rest of my career."

- Carlie Bowditch, RM of Tisdale #427. Mentee, 2022/23

"This program is kind of like a building block program, which I liked. From the start to the end, starting with a District Meeting, then I went to a Committee Meeting, and then there's the provincial General Meeting, and then CFA. I think starting from the first thing being a district meeting and then building up was a great way to see once we got to CFA how it all comes together."

- Morgan Follensbee, RM of Newcombe #260. Mentee, 2022/23

"I wanted to take part in this program because I was looking for an avenue to lead me into the direction of governance, government, or policy without having to get a full-time job to find those avenues. This was recommended to me, and it didn't disappoint. It's shown me a lot of different aspects of the policy needed and the governance needed to help carry the voice of agriculture and impact the changes needed to keep policies in the forefront, but also including the producer's voice in it."

- Eric Martens, RM of Longlaketon #219. Mentee, 2022/23

Have questions?

Watch this webinar to hear from past mentors and mentees about their experience and what they took away from the program.

Past Program Participants

Eric Martens – RM of Lonlaketon, #219
Carlie Bowditch – RM of Tisdale, #427
Morgan Follensbee – RM of Newcombe, #260
Ashley Van Meter – RM of Moose Range, #486


Madison Englot – RM of Montmarte, #126
Brett Spray – RM of Hazel Dell, #335
Sarah Leguee – RM of Wellington, #97
Glen Munholland – RM of McKillop, #220


Jocelyn Velestuk, RM of Elcapo #154
Reid Daley, RM of Laurier #38 
Michelle Ross, RM of Wolseley #155
Devon Walker, RM of Wilton #472

Kirk Lishchynsky, RM of Fish Creek #402 (not pictured)


Brandt Carter • RM #228 Lacadena
Paige Stewart • RM #96 Fillmore
Amanda Logel • RM #217 Lipton
Stephanie Sylvestre • RM #190 Dufferin
Stuart Chutter • RM #185 McLeod


Dennis Clarke • RM of McLeod, #185
Ashten Douhaniuk • RM of Grayson, #184
Karlah Rae Rudolph • RM of Webb, #138
Adrienne Ivey • RM of Ituna Bon Accord, #246
Megz Reynolds • RM of Lacadena, #228 
Jessica Raycraft • RM of Tramping Lake, #380
Lynn Crossman • RM of Paddockwood, #520
Seraina Giovanoli • RM of Porcupine, #395
Matthew Hunter • RM of Golden West, #95



Spencer Maxwell • RM of Moose Range, #486
Danny Ottenbreit • RM of Grayson, #184
Daryl Fransoo • RM of Mervin, #499
Devin Harlick • RM of Piapot, #110
Matthew McKinnon • RM of Chesterfield, #261



Subscribe to the APAS Update

© 2022 APAS - All Rights Reserved


Privacy Policy